2547



**Senate Environmental Resources** and Energy Committee

**Senator Mary Jo White** 

Chairman

Patrick Henderson, Executive Director

Room 168 • State Capitol Building Mailing address: Senate Box 203021 • Harrisburg, PA 17120-3021

Phone: 717-787-9684 • FAX: 717-787-6088

October 18, 2006

The Honorable Alvin C. Bush, Chairman Independent Regulatory Review Commission 333 Market St, 14th Floor Harrisburg, PA 17101

The Honorable Kathleen A. McGinty, Chair Environmental Quality Board 15th Floor Rachel Carson Building Harrisburg, PA 17105

RE: Final Rulemaking: Mercury Emission Reduction Requirements for Electric Generating Units (#7-405)

## Dear Chairman Bush & Chairperson McGinty:

We are writing at the direction of the Senate Environmental Resources and Energy Committee to notify the Independent Regulatory Review Commission (IRRC) and the Environmental Quality Board (EQB) of the Senate Environmental Resources and Energy Committee's intent to further review the above-referenced final rulemaking. This notice is made in accordance with §5.1 (j.2) of the Act 181 of 1982, as amended, known as the Regulatory Review Act.

As you recall, on September 22, 2006 the Committee submitted extensive comments to EQB and IRRC outlining concerns with the proposed regulation. IRRC submitted its comments on September 25, 2006. On June 13, 2006 the Committee approved Senate Bill 1201 by a 10-1 vote. This legislation proposes a significantly different mercury emission reduction plan than contained in the rulemaking. Senate Bill 1201 passed the Senate by a bipartisan, 40-10 vote on June 20, 2006. Extending the Committee's review period will permit the Committee to consider IRRC's final action on the regulation at its scheduled November 16, 2006 meeting, and permit members of the General Assembly to work with the Governor's Office to achieve a consensus mercury emission reduction plan.

This notice of intent to further review the final regulation was adopted by formal action of the Committee at its October 18, 2006 meeting.

Sincerely,

Senate Environmental Resources

& Energy Committee

Raphael J. Musto, Democratic Chairman

Senate Environmental Resources

& Energy Committee